$50 in Groceries Week 3

(If you’d like to read this challenge from the beginning, please check out: https://mamanthems.wordpress.com/2015/04/25/could-you-survive-a-month-with-only-50-in-groceries/)


Well, I’m happy to report this seems to be getting easier to figure out as we go. We have some leftover food items (like cereal from buying it two weeks in a row) and budget from last week that I am going to incorporate into this week’s plan, so even though we went a couple dollars over budget, I had the cash.

I was so nervous starting this challenge, but it’s really been just working on focusing on what we need and paying attention to prices. If I apply this concept to my grocery shopping all the time; then when I go back to pantry stocking, I should be able to adhere to my grocery budget a whole lot better than I have. 🙂

For this week my husband will be out of town for a few days, so I shifted my focus to more multi-meal dishes, like pasta salad to get through the odd days, and this week’s lunches are sandwiches (which I actually spent more trying to buy meat/cheese per pound than the deli packages we usually get, so I’m really not sure how to make that any cheaper other than getting a deal on the bread).

This Week’s Menu:

Monday: Spinach Pasta salad

Tuesday: Pantry

Wednesday: Egg-macaroni salad

Thursday: ham quiche

Friday: curried empanadas

Saturday: -Pantry/grill night-

Sunday: spaghetti with meat sauce


Groceries 

Wheat Bread– Double pack 4.00
tomato paste (2) 1.34
Milk 1.99
Shredded Cheddar cheese 3.99
Margarine .99
Bottle water 2.99
eggs (18 pk) 2.98
crackers 2.50
Minced garlic 4.99
Can of Canneli beans .99
Can of Cream of Mushroom Soup (2) 1.98
sliced provolone 5.24
Sliced Ham 8.23
Feta cheese 4.49
Strawberries 3.99
Spinach 1.77

 Grand Total:                                                                                                                              $52.36

Leave a Reply

