The Golden Rule

On a personal note, I have renewed faith in people today. I fell in love with and bought a desk for my crafting at Salvation Army yesterday. I came to pick it up today, and it did not fit in my car at all. Not phased because my car has 0 hauling capabilities, I called my fiancee to borrow his car since most of the time whatever it is will fit in his spacious back seat. Not this time. It was about a half an inch too wide on every side to fit into his trunk or back seat. I joked about and then seriously considered laying a towel down and strapping it to the roof of my car with some rope or something. My sweetie turned down that idea, so we stood there for a moment, scratching our heads. Right when I was ready to accept the fact that this was an irreversable error and I’d have to give up my desk, a pair of elderly good samaritans (who were watching and probably laughing at our attempts to fit the desk in his car) offered to haul the desk and follow me home. Their names are Lois and Fran Gehl, and I could not thank them enough. When we got the desk into the garage I tried to insist on some kind of compensation for them driving all the way out there, but all they wanted was me to pay it forward. Which I will… and for those who read this, be kind to a stranger today for me.

Leave a Reply

