Coupon Adventures! Week of 1/27-2/2

Okay, so this week I really wanted to pull together all I’ve learned in the last month getting into couponing. Most of the items on my list were either on sale, I had a coupon for, or both. I spend a few hours before the shopping trip looking through store ads and online match-ups to determine the best deals and strategize my trip around the stores. (Yes, multiple stores… something I’ve learned is essential to finding the best deals around where I live… however, it means driving to two different nearby towns, which is why planning the trip out is so important.)

Here was my list for the week:

Dollar Tree

Palmolive

Scotch-brite

 

Rite Aid

Covergirl BOG 50%

Naturesbounty BOGO

 

Weis

Natures Made BOGO

McCormick Seasonings

Avacados 10/10

Pistachios BOGO

Furamos Tomatoes 10/10

Lipton Tea

Purina Cat Chow

Tidy Cats Litter

Tresemme

 

Tops

Totinos pizza rolls 3/9

Lipton Recipe Secrets 2/3

Tops Batteries BOGO

T Bonz Treats BOGO

 

 

As you can see, when I constructed the list, I added in some of the deals at each store to remind myself, and also to compare incase I found better deals elsewhere. I also hit up another stop on my way to Weis, and scored another deal with a coupon I’ve had on hand for a week for Irish Spring bar soap.  I wound up not getting any Palmolive soap because no one had it on sale, but I double lucked out on the scotch-brite sponges and Weis had an on-product coupon on the Tresemme for 1.75 off, which when paired with the BOGO coupon I got out of the 1/27 paper, meant I got 4 bottles for 6.08. Not too shabby.

So here’s a basic break-down of how it went:

Store

Total Before Savings

 Total Savings

Amount Paid

Dollar Tree

4.00

2.00

2.00

Family Dollar

3.59

1.00

2.59

Rite-Aid

13.28

5.90

7.38

Tops

44.18

11.51

33.95

Weis

156.28

68.66

87.62

 

So I spent 133.54 for 221.33 worth of product, that’s a savings rate of 60%! For a beginner, I feel pretty proud of saving over 50% of my grocery bill this week. How are your couponing adventures going?

4 thoughts on “Coupon Adventures! Week of 1/27-2/2

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing abilities and also with the layout in your weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

Leave a Reply

